Temple & Belton, TX — Builder Intelligence
Compare New Home Builders in Temple, TX — Warranties, Features and Written Offers
Compare Temple and Belton builders by the actual home, complete price and move date. Send me the links you’re considering — or just your budget and move timing — and I’ll help you narrow the options.
Or compare the nine builders first.
Rather talk? Call 254-718-4249 or text Taylor.
Shopping for a home rather than a builder? Start with new construction homes in Temple, TX by price band and community.
Start with the purchase you are comparing
Which Builders Should You Compare for Your Home and Move Date?
Comparing community homes in Temple and Belton? Start with D.R. Horton, Lennar, Stylecraft, Flintrock, Omega, Centex, KB Home, Kiella and Carothers Executive Homes as research routes, not a ranking. Each entry below shows where the builder listed communities on October 21, 2026, what its published warranty material says, the one question that most changes the comparison, and whether we found a public agent-registration policy. Commissioning a custom build? Start with the Carothers, Eagle Ridge and Arnold Design Build profiles, then confirm each builder accepts your lot and scope.
A brand name or a review average cannot tell you the condition or value of the home you are buying. The exact-home specifications, written terms and inspection findings give you a stronger basis; the five checks below show where to look.
Builder-specific starting points
Which Temple and Belton builders should you compare?
Community names and warranty lines come from each builder’s own website, checked October 21, 2026. They are research routes, not inventory, quality ratings or a ranking; the warranty that applies to your home is its own booklet. Our October 21 review found public agent-registration policies for Omega, Lennar and KB Home and did not find one for the other six in the sources checked; the rules are set out once below.
Already narrowing it down? Text me the builders you’re weighing Call 254-718-4249 No worksheet needed.
D.R. Horton includes its Express Homes brand
- Where listed
- Temple, Belton and Salado
- Published warranty
- Linked RWC booklet: builder workmanship in year one, specified systems in year two, major structural defects through year ten with an insurer as warrantor in years three to ten. Confirm this home’s enrollment.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Does the price include the selected lot and features, and which lender conditions apply?
- Agent registration
- No public rule found for the Temple market in the October 21 check; ask the sales office.
Communities and links
Temple: Blackland Ranch, Homestead, Mesa Ridge, North Creek, Oak Ridge, Pecan Creek, Pepper Creek Crossing, The Terrace Duplexes. Belton: Hidden Trails, Three Creeks (Colt Creek). Salado: Sterling Meadows.
Official Temple pages · Warranty documents route · Local profile
Lennar
- Where listed
- Temple and Salado; no Belton listing found in the October 21 check
- Published warranty
- Program page: one year workmanship, two years mechanical and systems, ten years structural; no booklet linked.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Which advertised features are in this home’s signed specifications, and what ongoing service conditions apply?
- Agent registration
- Public policy found: your agent is identified at your first contact of any kind and attends your first visit; registration is valid for 60 days. See the rules below.
Communities and links
Temple: Atascosa Estates, Preserve at Lions Park, The Ridge at Knob Creek. Salado: Flint Ridge. The October 21 official-site check found no Belton community listing and did not find Monte Verde in the current directory.
Official Temple-area communities · Warranty program · Browse the hub directory
Stylecraft
- Where listed
- Temple and Belton
- Published warranty
- One-year workmanship warranty published; its homeowner guide refers to a limited structural warranty without stating a term or provider.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Which choices are included, and which cost extra for this home?
- Agent registration
- No public rule found in the October 21 check; ask the sales office.
Communities and links
Temple: Hartrick Ranch, Northgate, South Pointe, The Homestead. Belton: The Ridge at Belle Meadows, Three Creeks.
Flintrock Builders
- Where listed
- Temple and Salado (The Ridge at Knob Creek lists single-family and duplex separately)
- Published warranty
- We did not find a warranty term schedule in the official pages checked on October 21; ask for the document before signing.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Is the quote for one home or an entire duplex, and do the financing and included work match that product?
- Agent registration
- No public rule found in the October 21 check; ask the sales office.
Communities and links
Temple: Mesa Ridge, Oak Ridge, The Ridge at Knob Creek (single-family and duplex listed separately). Salado: King Oaks.
Omega Builders
- Where listed
- Temple and Belton
- Published warranty
- One year workmanship/materials by Omega, two years delivery systems, ten years major structural through StrucSure (published page; no booklet linked).
- Ask before comparing prices
- Which claim process, exclusions and deadlines apply to this home’s warranty?
- Agent registration
- Public policy found: your agent attends the first meeting and registers you there, or — if unable to attend — registers you by phone or email within 24 hours of that meeting; valid three months. See the rules below.
Communities and links
Temple: Hartrick Ranch, Grove at Lakewood Ranch East, North Point, Hillside Village, Hills of Westwood. Belton: Three Creeks.
Official communities · Warranty page · Registration policy · Local profile
Centex
- Where listed
- Temple: County View · Belton: Skyview
- Published warranty
- Linked documents conflict (a 2016 highlights flyer and a 2026 national book); ask which warranty document governs a Texas contract.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Which selections are already fixed, and what is the itemized price for this address?
- Agent registration
- No public rule found in the October 21 check; ask the sales office.
Communities and links
KB Home
- Where listed
- Belton: Hidden Trails, the only community in its Temple–Belton directory on October 21, marked “Final Opportunity To Own”
- Published warranty
- Warranty highlights: one year workmanship/materials, two years mechanical systems, ten years structural; KB says warranties “can vary slightly from state to state”; no full document linked.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Which design choices remain at this home’s construction stage, and can you share its energy documentation?
- Agent registration
- Public policy found: your agent registers you at the first visit and comes with you; a written buyer agreement precedes the purchase contract. See the rules below.
Communities and links
Hidden Trails was the only community listed in KB’s Temple–Belton directory on October 21, 2026, marked “Final Opportunity To Own.”
Official Temple–Belton page · Warranty highlights · Local profile
Kiella Homebuilders
- Where listed
- Temple
- Published warranty
- One year workmanship/materials, two years major systems, ten years structural through StrucSure (published page and linked booklet).
- Ask before comparing prices
- Will you provide the warranty schedule that applies to this exact home before I sign?
- Agent registration
- No public rule found in the October 21 check; ask the sales office.
Communities and links
Temple: Grove at Lakewood Ranch East and West, Hartrick Ranch, Hills of Westwood East, The Parks at Westfield.
Carothers Executive Homes
- Where listed
- Temple, Belton market page (including Morgan’s Point Resort) and Salado
- Published warranty
- Its site links a Texas Association of Builders express-warranty form (2023 edition) and names StrucSure as third-party provider without stating a term; ask which form and structural coverage apply to your contract.
- Ask before comparing prices
- Which insulation, cabinetry and plan changes are included for this address?
- Agent registration
- No public rule found in the October 21 check; ask the sales office.
Communities and links
Temple: Bella Terra, Blackland Ranch, Hartrick Valley, Mesa Ridge, Wildflower Country Club, Wilma’s Way. Belton market page: Three Creeks (Belton), Rancho Del Lago (Morgan’s Point Resort). Salado: Stinnett Mill, Eagle Heights. Other Carothers labels in the MLS do not establish which company built the home.
Official Temple market page · Warranty information · Local profile
More routes: same-community matches, first-home and custom options, other builders. Listing counts by builder label from the October 8 snapshot: dated listing evidence.
Want me to compare them?
Send me a few links — or just your budget and move date — and I’ll help you narrow the options. Already spoken with a builder, or working with an agent? Let me know; it changes what I check first.
No worksheet or written offer needed. Prefer a form? Use the builder-visit planning form.
Add a few details to your message (optional)
Fill in only what you know, then choose text or email.
Paste links, name communities, or write “not sure yet.”
A top number, a range or a monthly target.
A month, a season or “not sure yet.”
Any builder you’ve contacted or visited, and whether you have an agent. It changes what I check first.
The buttons open a draft in your own phone or email app; you decide whether to send it. This message composer does not send or save your entries. Leave out account numbers and other sensitive details.
What this is, and what happens if we tour together
This is a conversation with me, not an instant tool; it doesn’t approve financing, inspect a home or interpret a contract. If we tour homes together, we agree on representation and compensation in writing first. Already working with another agent? Start with them.
Already have a written offer?
That gets its own, more careful check: I confirm your agent relationship and the builder’s registration rules with you first, then review a redacted copy — no Social Security numbers, account numbers or signatures — and reply by email with questions for the builder or lender.
Before the price
Five things that decide the choice between two new homes
Two homes that look alike on a listing can be different purchases. Check these on any two finalists before you weigh an incentive.
-
What the price actually covers
A community “starting at” figure, a plan price and a quote for one address are three different numbers. A starting or plan price may leave out a lot premium or options shown in the model; check what the quoted price includes.
Ask for an itemized quote tied to the address, lot and construction stage, and write “not provided” beside anything missing. Itemized costs
-
Construction stage and completion
Complete, under construction and to-be-built homes answer the move-date question differently. “Move-in ready” is the builder’s label, not a closing date.
Get the completion commitment in writing and ask what the contract says if it slips. The three stages explained
-
What is included
A model may show upgrades. The signed specification sheet records what is included; inspections check the work. In an October 8, 2026 source check, one home’s page described quartz while its community summary described granite.
Compare the included-features sheet for this home, not the community list, and ask which model features are upgrades here. Compare the construction
-
The lot’s ongoing costs
HOA dues, PID or MUD assessments and the completed-home tax estimate are not in the sticker price. A land-only or partial-construction tax bill may not reflect the finished home’s future property taxes.
Check the parcel’s taxing entities at Bell CAD and ask for the HOA documents; if a listing says “no HOA,” confirm it in the title commitment. Parcel and ongoing costs
-
Warranty and written terms
Published warranty summaries differ by builder and are not the booklet for your home. An advertised incentive has written conditions, such as a required lender or a closing deadline, that decide whether it applies to you.
Request the warranty schedule that applies to this home and the incentive’s written conditions, then compare Loan Estimates for the same loan amount and type. Warranties · Financing offers
Want your own agent involved? Decide before the first contact. Our October 21 review found public policies for three of the nine; confirm each builder’s current requirements. Registration rules
Fictional example — invented buyer, invented homes. No real listing, builder, price or availability, and nothing here comes from the MLS.
What a comparison looks like
How missing details change a shortlist
An invented buyer sends three links, a firm top number, a late-spring move date, one story and no HOA. The read: Home A fits the date on paper but still lacks an itemized price, assessment details and an included-features sheet; Home C’s plan price does not cover its lot or options; Home B’s stated completion window ends after the lease. The first job is getting those answers in writing, not touring.
Open the full fictional example: three homes, what is confirmed, what is missing, what to ask
An invented walk-through of how I’d think through three links: what fits, what is unknown and what to ask next. The homes are made up; the method is the real one.
What they sent: “Three links: two homes from one builder, one from another. We need keys before our lease ends in late spring. One story. We’d rather not pay an HOA. Our budget has a firm top number.”
Home A
Investigate firstFits the move date on paper. “No HOA” appears in the listing text only.
- Confirmed
- The builder’s own page describes this address as complete (a dated reading, not a visit).
- Still unknown
- Whether a PID or MUD assessment applies; the itemized price for this address; which model features are included.
- Ask
- What work remains, and what closing window can you commit to in writing?
Home B
On holdThe builder’s stated completion window ends after the lease does.
- Confirmed
- The stage, as described by the sales office (dated).
- Still unknown
- Whether an earlier completion date can be put in writing; what the contract says if it slips.
- Ask
- Will you commit to a completion date before our move, in the contract?
Home C
Needs a full price and scheduleThe price covers the plan, not this lot or the options in the model. HOA status unknown.
- Confirmed
- Nothing yet beyond the plan and the advertised price.
- Still unknown
- The lot premium and option costs; HOA or assessment documents; a realistic schedule against the move date.
- Ask
- What is the itemized price for the lot I’d choose, and are there HOA or assessment documents?
What changed the shortlist
A is the first home to investigate because its stated stage fits the move date. It is not yet a verified budget fit: its itemized price, assessments and included features are still unknown. C needs a complete price and a workable schedule before it becomes a serious alternative. B stays on hold unless its completion window changes.
Where local judgment comes in
A listing’s “no HOA” can still sit in a PID or MUD, so the parcel’s taxing entities get checked before anyone relies on it. A builder’s “ready” label is a sales status, not a closing date. And if you want your own agent involved, the builder’s registration rule decides when that agent has to be named — before the first call, for some builders on this page.
The differences, side by side (Home A and Home C)
| What to compare | Home A | Home C |
|---|---|---|
| What the price covers | The listed price for this address; ask whether it includes the lot and the finishes you see. | A plan price. Lot premium and options are extra; ask for the itemized total. |
| Construction stage | Complete, per the builder’s page (dated reading). | Not started. Get the schedule in writing against the move date. |
| Included in the price | Blinds, refrigerator and fencing are not listed. Ask. | The model shows upgrades. Which ones are in this home? |
| HOA, PID or MUD | No HOA listed. Check the parcel’s taxing entities and the title commitment. | Unknown. Request the HOA documents and check the taxing entities. |
| Financing incentive | A lender credit if you use the builder’s lender; ask what it covers and the deadline. | An advertised rate; ask whether it is temporary or permanent and what it costs up front. |
| Warranty | Builder coverage plus a structural administrator; ask for the booklet. | Same question. |
Still missing before prices can be compared
- An itemized written quote for each address, dated the same day.
- The signed specification sheet for each home, not the model’s.
- Each lender’s Loan Estimate for the same loan amount and type.
Ask on the first visit
- “Does this price include the lot premium and the options I’m seeing?”
- “Which credits require your lender, and what is the closing deadline?”
- “Which features in the model are upgrades in this home?”
- “If I want my agent involved, how do you handle registration?”
Next step: Start by checking A’s price and closing window before booking a tour. Keep C in reserve while its price and schedule are clarified. B stays on hold unless its completion window changes. If a written offer appears, that is where the Second Opinion starts.
Want this for your own links? Have Taylor compare my options
Representation and registration
Before your first builder contact
If you want your own agent involved, decide before you call a sales office, fill in a builder’s web form or walk a model. Our October 21, 2026 review found public registration policies for Omega, Lennar and KB Home; no public rule was found for the other six in the sources checked. These policies affect builder-paid broker cooperation, not whether you may hire an agent. Confirm the current terms with the sales office.
Rules as published on each builder’s own site, checked October 21, 2026.
- Omega: Your agent comes to your first meeting with an Omega sales agent and registers you there, or — if they can’t attend — registers you by phone or email within 24 hours of it. Registration is valid for three months. Omega also asks buyers to disclose any agent relationship. Omega’s policy
- Lennar: Your agent must be identified at your first contact of any kind — including an internet-sales introduction or a self-guided tour — and must come to your first visit or tour. Booking an appointment online is not registration. Registration lasts 60 days and can be extended by another accompanied visit before the existing registration expires. Lennar’s policy
- KB Home: Your agent registers you at the first visit and comes with you. A signed written buyer-broker agreement must come before the purchase agreement, and the contract must follow within 60 days. KB Home’s policy
- D.R. Horton (Temple market), Stylecraft, Flintrock, Centex, Kiella, Carothers Executive: no public rule found on the builder’s site in the October 21 check. Ask the sales office before your first visit.
- Ashford Homes and White River Homes: no public registration rule found in the October 21 review; each says a real estate team handles its sales.
In Texas, a written agreement covering services, representation and compensation generally comes before an agent shows you a home, and compensation is negotiable (TREC guidance). Already contacted a builder before reading this? Say so when you reach out; what happens next depends on that builder’s policy and your own agreements.
Narrowing by community or budget
More research routes
Same community, more than one builder
If you’ve settled on a community, compare its builders on similar lots and plans with quotes dated the same day. Check availability first; some builders list only their final homes in a community.
- Three Creeks (Belton): Stylecraft, Omega, Carothers. The October 21, 2026 check found zero available homes for Three Creeks–Colt Creek in nearby-community data embedded in D.R. Horton’s own pages; confirm availability directly.
- Hartrick Ranch: Stylecraft, Kiella, Omega
- Mesa Ridge: D.R. Horton, Flintrock, Carothers
- The Grove at Lakewood Ranch: Kiella (East and West), Omega (East)
- Hills of Westwood: Omega, Kiella (East)
- Oak Ridge: D.R. Horton, Flintrock
- The Ridge at Knob Creek: Lennar, Flintrock
- Blackland Ranch: D.R. Horton, Carothers
- Hidden Trails (Belton): KB Home, D.R. Horton
Matched by community name on each builder’s own site, October 21, 2026; D.R. Horton’s names come from nearby-community data embedded in its pages rather than a rendered market finder. A shared name does not prove the same phase or section.
Buying your first home?
Of the 458 recent-build listings in the October 8 snapshot, 137 asked under $280,000; most of those carried a D.R. Horton or Stylecraft label. That shows where lower-priced listings were concentrated that day across seven cities, resales included; it says nothing about which home is the better buy. Compare exact homes on what the price covers, what is included and cash to close, and ask whether a builder’s lender incentive works with any down-payment assistance you plan to use. The Temple buyer playbook covers the buying process; this page owns the builder and home comparison. See the listing counts
Building custom or on your own lot?
Start with the custom builders that have local profiles: Carothers Executive Homes, Eagle Ridge Builders and Arnold Design + Build; the luxury homes page covers more. Before comparing proposals, confirm the builder accepts your lot and scope, then compare fixed-price versus cost-plus terms, allowances, the draw schedule, the build timeline and the warranty.
Other builders in the area: Ashford, White River, John Houston, Tippit, Jerry Wright, Saratoga
- Ashford Homes builds Hubbard Branch in Belton and Goodnight Ranch in Killeen; its site says an outside real estate team markets its homes, and it describes a one-year builder limited warranty.
- White River Homes is a Salado builder in Drake’s Landing Phase II and Eagle Ranch; sales run through Magnolia Realty, and the reviewed material describes a one-year builder’s warranty and references separate coverage without giving its terms.
- John Houston Homes is profiled on this site; its own site listed Legacy Ranch (one home remaining on October 21) and Valor Estates in Temple.
- Also profiled: Tippit Homes (Three Creeks), Jerry Wright Homes and Saratoga Homes.
What Can the Dated Listing Evidence Tell You?
The October 8, 2026 CTXMLS snapshot contains 458 screened Active residential records with reported build years of 2025 or 2026 across Temple, Belton, Killeen, Nolanville, Salado, Troy and Harker Heights. The median asking price is $323,795; 76 records have no builder name. The sample includes resales and does not verify first occupancy, completion or availability after the observation.
Use these figures to decide which written offers to investigate. A builder-label count does not measure quality or the size of a company. For Temple community and budget context, use the new-construction shopping guide; its broader build-year filter is explained there.
These are active listing counts by the builder name entered on October 8, not sales, company size or quality. Of the 458 screened listings, 76 had no builder name; Kiella’s six counts only entries with that label. Blank builder fields remain unattributed—a community name does not establish the builder.
| Builder name entered on the listing | Active listings on Oct 8 | Median asking price | Asking-price range | MLS cities |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| D.R. Horton | 121 | $265,950 | $200,935–$514,800 | Belton 3 · Killeen 52 · Nolanville 19 · Salado 4 · Temple 43 |
| Builder name not entered | 76 | $339,999.50 | $186,900–$985,000 | Belton 9 · Harker Heights 1 · Killeen 10 · Nolanville 2 · Salado 6 · Temple 46 · Troy 2 |
| Stylecraft | 54 | $290,900 | $236,900–$405,900 | Belton 8 · Killeen 18 · Nolanville 9 · Temple 15 · Troy 4 |
| Carothers Executive labels | 33 | $479,000 | $369,000–$869,000 | Belton 5 · Salado 6 · Temple 19 · Troy 3 |
| Flintrock | 30 | $371,590 | $254,540–$799,990 | Killeen 3 · Nolanville 13 · Salado 4 · Temple 10 |
| Other Carothers labels | 22 | $444,500 | $319,999–$649,000 | Killeen 21 · Salado 1 |
| Ashford Homes | 13 | $322,900 | $282,900–$389,900 | Belton 10 · Killeen 3 |
| Sandor | 10 | $347,000 | $309,000–$648,900 | Nolanville 5 · Salado 3 · Temple 2 |
| BK HOME DEVELOPMENT | 9 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $477,000–$499,500 | Temple 9 |
| Jubilee Homes | 7 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $274,500–$462,500 | Belton 5 · Salado 1 · Temple 1 |
| BFF Construction | 6 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $199,990–$224,990 | Killeen 6 |
| Centex | 6 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $238,741–$307,990 | Belton 3 · Temple 3 |
| Kiella Homebuilders | 6 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $285,000–$305,000 | Temple 6 |
| White River Homes | 6 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $459,900–$579,900 | Salado 6 |
Method: MLS City in the seven cities named above; Residential; Active; reported YearBuilt exactly 2025 or 2026; positive ListPrice of at least $15,000; no positive LeasePrice. One identified vacant lot is excluded. Full normalized street identity plus City was checked; no duplicate properties or conflicting asking-price groups remained. No bedroom or upper-price filter applies. Medians are withheld for groups smaller than ten; counts and ranges remain visible. Builder-name variants are grouped as listing labels, with Executive-labeled and other Carothers records kept separate. These labels do not prove company identity. Asking prices are not sold prices, base-plan quotes or written builder offers. Raw MLS records remain private.
The source selection contained 459 records; excluding one identified vacant lot left 458 screened listings.
Which listing labels appeared below $280,000?
In that same October 8 snapshot, 137 of the 458 records asked below $280,000. Of those, 72 carried a D.R. Horton label and 20 a Stylecraft label. Compare actual homes and specifications before treating them as interchangeable choices; these counts include resales and do not identify the best value or current inventory.
| Builder name entered on the listing | Active listings on Oct 8 | Median asking price | Asking-price range | MLS cities |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| D.R. Horton | 72 | $240,050 | $200,935–$279,830 | Belton 3 · Killeen 25 · Nolanville 9 · Temple 35 |
| Stylecraft | 20 | $262,400 | $236,900–$279,900 | Belton 2 · Killeen 5 · Nolanville 3 · Temple 6 · Troy 4 |
| Builder name not entered | 13 | $224,900 | $186,900–$272,000 | Harker Heights 1 · Temple 12 |
| BFF Construction | 6 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $199,990–$224,990 | Killeen 6 |
| Flintrock | 6 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $254,540–$278,115 | Nolanville 1 · Temple 5 |
| Apus Build LLC | 3 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $195,000–$209,900 | Temple 3 |
| C PURSER HOLDINGS | 3 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $238,000–$240,000 | Temple 3 |
| Centex | 2 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $238,741–$259,990 | Belton 1 · Temple 1 |
| Dunhill Homes | 2 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $249,900–$269,900 | Belton 2 |
| KB Home | 2 | Not reported: fewer than 10 records | $238,735–$239,422 | Belton 2 |
Compare the current home price and all written credits together. Check the source-dated incentive desk and confirm eligible homes and terms before touring.
Building in West Temple
For a West Temple search, use the West Temple neighborhood guide to compare locations, then the Omega, Kiella and Carothers profiles for builder-specific research. Confirm which company is selling the actual home, its current community availability and the exact school assignment; a listing name or neighborhood label does not settle those questions.
How Much Does New Construction Really Cost in Temple TX?
A builder’s starting price is not an itemized quote for your selected home. Use the same address, plan, lot, selections and quote date when comparing offers. Separate the purchase price from loan costs, closing costs and the cash you need to bring to closing.
Request a written comparison for the specific D.R. Horton Pecan Creek home. Itemize the home price, lot premium, included features, optional selections, and loan and closing costs. Compare the written incentive conditions and Loan Estimates for each financing option. A community starting price does not establish the current cost of that home.
| Cost or condition | Written detail to compare | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Home and lot | Address, plan, lot premium and quoted purchase price | Match the home, construction stage and quote date. |
| Included features and options | Signed included-features sheet and priced selections | Identify omitted appliances, landscaping and other work; avoid counting included items twice. |
| Incentives and financing | Written eligibility, lender conditions and Loan Estimates | Compare the rate, points, lender charges and credits together; a credit alone does not establish the lower-cost offer. |
| Closing cash | Down payment, closing charges, prepaid expenses, escrow deposits and credits | Separate cash needed at closing from purchase price and monthly payment; use your lender and title estimates. |
| Ongoing costs | Property taxes, insurance, HOA and applicable assessments | Use the specific property and coverage; a starting-price advertisement does not establish these costs. |
The earlier builder-by-builder walk-out estimates have been withdrawn: their starting prices and estimated totals were not matched to the same dated home quote. They cannot establish a reliable upgrade allowance or final-price gap.
What is behind the walls matters more than what is on them
How Can You Compare the Construction of Two Homes?
A builder name does not establish the materials or condition of a particular plan, phase or lot. Ask for the signed specifications and use an independent inspector to examine what was actually built. A finished model home can include options absent from the quoted home.
| Compare | Evidence to request | Useful question |
|---|---|---|
| Foundation and structure | Approved plans, engineering documents when applicable, and inspection reports | Does the documentation apply to this lot and completed structure? |
| Framing and insulation | Written specifications identifying materials and installation scope | Which items are standard for this home, and which are upgrades? |
| Energy features | Home-specific equipment list and any claimed certification | Is the advertised feature or certification included in my signed specifications? |
| Inspection access and repairs | Contract terms for inspection access, repair requests and final walkthrough | When can my inspector attend, and how will agreed repairs be documented? |
A warranty is not an inspection report. TREC’s consumer inspection guidance explains the role of the written inspection report; ask your inspector what the proposed inspection covers and excludes.
What Do Builder Warranties Actually Cover?
Use published information to identify the documents to request. Coverage for your purchase depends on the applicable warranty, its exclusions and deadlines, and the responsible party for each kind of claim. A general website summary does not establish your home’s contract or predict claim handling.
| Builder | What the published source establishes | What still needs the home’s documents |
|---|---|---|
| Kiella | Coverage information and warranty documents; see the dated note below. | Applicable schedule, exclusions, deadlines and responsibility for each claim. |
| Omega | Published coverage describes one year for workmanship/materials, two for delivery systems and ten for major structural defects, with StrucSure responsible for structural coverage. | Confirm the actual booklet, claim process and responsible party by coverage type. |
| KB Home | Warranty highlights describe one-year workmanship, two-year systems and ten-year structural coverage, with state variations. | Obtain the applicable agreement rather than treating highlights as the full warranty. |
| Stylecraft | Warranty page describes first-year workmanship service. | Ask for the complete coverage schedule. That description does not establish that all protection ends after one year. |
| D.R. Horton | Official documents and guides provide a warranty-document route. | Confirm the correct warranty, reporting deadlines and administrator for this home. |
Kiella source check, September 23, 2026: Kiella’s published warranty page describes one year for workmanship/materials, two years for major systems, and ten years for structural coverage through StrucSure. This corrects our earlier “one-year only” label. We have not verified the applicable documents for an individual home. Request its warranty schedule, exclusions, claim deadlines and responsible parties before signing.
Ask for the complete written warranty before signing, identify what is excluded, and save the contact and submission process for each coverage type. A builder portal is a way to submit a request; it is not itself a coverage term. An inspection and a warranty answer different questions.
How Should You Compare Builder Financing Offers?
Ask for the written offer for the exact home, then compare financing on matched dates, loan amounts and loan types. A large credit or low advertised rate does not by itself establish the cheaper purchase.
| Ask for | Check before relying on the offer |
|---|---|
| Eligibility and deadline | Which home, buyer conditions, loan product and closing date qualify? |
| Two complete scenarios | What are the itemized costs with the designated lender and with an outside lender? Identify any changes to price or credits. |
| Rate and points | Is the advertised rate permanent or temporary? What upfront cost, rate-lock period and later payment apply? |
| Credits and cash to close | Which expenses can the credit cover, what limits apply, and what cash remains due? |
| Contract consequences | What do the actual documents say about deposit refunds, financing or appraisal shortfalls, delays and substitutions? Have your agent or attorney explain unclear clauses. |
Use the CFPB Loan Estimate comparison guide for the loan-cost fields. Taxes and insurance can differ because of assumptions; a lower estimate is not automatically a saving created by the lender. Confirm the home’s ongoing costs separately.
How do I compare two written builder offers in Temple?
Compare the exact homes, included work and complete ownership costs. Put each home’s specifications, itemized purchase quote and parcel tax/assessment information next to each other. Add the lender’s Loan Estimate when financing is involved. A lower advertised rate, a bigger credit or a familiar builder name does not settle the comparison.
Document guidance reviewed September 12, 2026. This review covers the method and official sources below. It does not establish a current home price, incentive or availability; separately dated builder sources appear below.
1. The home’s specifications
Match the address, subdivision/phase, plan and construction stage to the quote. Ask for the included-features sheet, selected options, lot charges, completion commitment and applicable warranty documents. Write “not provided” beside missing items; an empty line is not a zero-dollar cost or an included feature.
2. The itemized purchase and loan figures
Separate the home price from lot/options charges, seller incentives and lender credits. Ask which home, lender, loan and closing deadline qualify. With comparable Loan Estimates, check points and origination charges, credits, projected payments and cash to close. Ask the lender to explain any mismatched assumptions. CFPB: comparing Loan Estimates.
3. The parcel and ongoing ownership costs
Start at Bell Central Appraisal District and choose the current-year property search. Its September 12 homepage separates the 2026 search from prior years and taxes. Record the parcel and tax year, then verify taxing entities, district assessments and association charges for that address. Get insurance and finished-home cost estimates separately; an appraisal record is not a complete monthly budget.
Is the lower-rate builder offer automatically cheaper?
No. Compare matching loan amounts, types, terms and quote dates. A rate difference can accompany different upfront costs or credits. Compare the payment schedule and cash needed at closing as well. If one quote estimates lower taxes or insurance, ask why: those are ownership costs, not savings created by that lender. The CFPB Loan Estimate explainer shows where to find these fields.
Can I budget from the property’s last tax bill?
Use it as a record of its stated year, then check what property and exemptions it reflects. Texas appraisal generally looks at January 1 market value; a later finished home and your own circumstances can differ from that snapshot. Ask the lender and relevant tax authorities what the estimated costs include. The Texas Comptroller explains the valuation date and new improvements. No future tax bill is guaranteed here.
What does a written-offer review leave for an inspector?
Document comparison helps identify unanswered terms; it does not establish the home’s condition. Ask a licensed inspector about scope and timing, and confirm access in the purchase documents. TREC’s consumer inspection guidance explains written inspection reports for substantially completed homes.
Bring one useful question: “For this exact home, which costs, conditions or completion details are still missing from my written offer?” If you are comparing two homes, keep each home’s documents together so an incentive from one does not get paired with the other’s price.
Already have an offer? Request a Second Opinion
Still choosing where to tour? Use the Temple new-construction guide. Check advertised offers on the existing source-dated incentive desk, then verify the written terms for your home.
Open the optional three-home worksheet. You can print it; it does not submit or save your entries.
Prefer to compare on your own? Use the optional notes for one, two or three homes. Fill in only what you know. You don’t need to complete this to ask Taylor for help.
Put three homes on the same page
Record the same information for each finalist. Start with what you know and leave missing answers marked “Not provided.” A missing figure is not zero, an included feature or a confirmed completion date.
This worksheet does not submit or save your entries. Use the print button or your browser’s Print command to keep a paper copy or PDF before leaving. Keep account numbers and other sensitive information out of these notes.
A home-specific detail can change the comparison
On October 8, 2026, Stylecraft’s 521 Pipe Creek Drive page described quartz countertops for that home, while the community summary on the same page described granite. That is a reason to request the selected home’s signed specification sheet rather than carry a community feature list into every comparison. This is a dated reading of published descriptions, not an inspection or confirmation of the delivered finish.
Read cash to close without counting a credit twice
The lender’s Estimated Cash to Close is the amount still due at closing. Check the deposits, credits and adjustments it already includes before subtracting anything yourself. Moving expenses, utility setup and the cash you want left afterward belong in a separate budget.
Compare loan amounts, types, terms and quote dates before treating a lower payment or larger credit as savings. If two estimates use different taxes or insurance for the same home, ask the lender to reconcile the assumptions. Use the CFPB Loan Estimate comparison guide for the loan fields.
Choose the next step from what is missing
- Still choosing communities: have Taylor compare your options with links, a budget or a move date.
- Unmatched financing assumptions: ask the lenders for comparable written scenarios.
- Written documents ready: use the existing Builder Offer Second Opinion request. Ask how to provide redacted documents after the registration and agent-relationship check.
Use the source-dated incentive desk for offer context, the property-tax worksheet for parcel questions and TREC’s inspection guidance for the role of an inspection. This record organizes a comparison; it does not inspect the home, approve a loan or interpret a contract for you.
Worksheet and linked comparison guidance checked October 8, 2026. Builder-source dates and the separately dated closed-sales history elsewhere on this page retain their own scope.
Where Can You Check Source-Dated Builder Incentives?
Use the Bell County builder incentive desk to inspect its published source dates and offer conditions. Treat an advertised or listing-detected incentive as a starting point for a written eligibility check.
Ask which address, loan product, buyer qualifications, closing date and stacking rules apply. Confirm the price, credits and financing together. A completed home does not guarantee a discount, and an advertised package does not establish your eligibility. Call Taylor at 254-718-4249 for help comparing the written documents.
Compare the exact home, community and written terms
How Do You Verify Schools for a New-Construction Address?
Do not choose a school district from the builder’s name or a community-wide label. Obtain the exact street address and confirm the district and assigned campuses directly with the district for the school year when you would enroll. A community name can cover multiple sections; a new address may need staff confirmation if it does not appear in the lookup.
For the areas in this guide, start with the relevant official district: Belton ISD attendance boundaries, Temple ISD, Academy ISD, Killeen ISD, Troy ISD or Holland ISD. These links are verification routes, not confirmation that any unqueried property belongs to a particular district.
Keep the address, school year, lookup result and confirmation date with your home comparison. If a sales brochure and district response disagree, resolve the address with the district before relying on an assignment.
How Should You Use Builder Reviews?
Start by checking the exact company, location, date and issue in the review. A national review average, another city’s page and a local community’s experience answer different questions. None establishes the condition of the home you are considering.
| Check | Why it matters for this purchase |
|---|---|
| Exact business and location | Match the legal builder and local operation; do not combine similarly named companies. |
| What happened and when | Separate sales communication, construction quality and post-closing service. Look for dates and specific described events. |
| Source and sample | Record the platform, review count and observation date. A letter grade is not a customer-star average. |
| Your own evidence | Request the actual home’s specifications, inspection records, repair documentation and applicable warranty. Use review themes to form questions, not to declare a defect. |
The previous mixed-location rating and sentiment table has been withdrawn because its original sources and comparable scope were not sufficiently established. No builder quality ranking is derived from it.
How Should You Narrow a Temple or Belton Builder Shortlist?
Tippit Homes: another Bell County option to compare
The Tippit Homes profile covers Three Creeks and explains how published features vary by community. Compare the actual home’s signed specifications, written financing terms, inspection access and warranty with the other builders on your shortlist; the review does not establish a universal price or quality advantage.
Taylor Dasch — EG Realty | $20M+ Closed Volume · 85+ Transactions
Start with two or three actual homes that fit your complete budget, move date and daily routes. Then compare written specifications, inspections, financing and contract conditions. This order keeps a brand preference from hiding a home-level problem.
If your move date is fixed: compare the home’s construction stage, written completion terms and the cost of temporary housing if the schedule changes. If your budget is tight: compare total cash to close and ongoing costs before adding options. If you want custom work or your own lot: ask which builder entity accepts that location and scope, then review its specific contract and portfolio.
The dated MLS snapshot helps you see where listing supply was concentrated; the builder profiles help you choose what to investigate. Neither replaces a current written offer or independent inspection. Discuss representation, services and compensation in writing before touring.
Call Taylor directly →Which Searches Need a Different Comparison?
-
Buyers commissioning a custom home
If you want a fully custom home on acreage, check the luxury homes page. Confirm whether the specific builder entity accepts your lot and custom scope before comparing proposals.
-
Buyers who want established neighborhoods with character
Compare the actual lot, landscaping, HOA documents and nearby destinations. The neighborhoods guide provides another starting point for comparing homes.
-
Investors looking for rental cash flow
Request current rental comparables and itemize taxes, insurance, HOA charges, maintenance, vacancy and financing for the specific property. This comparison does not establish a rental return or recommend an investment from a rent-to-price rule.
Stylecraft — North Gate
Closing Day — Stylecraft
Kiella — Groves at Lakewood Ranch
Frequently Asked Questions
A lowest-cost comparison needs current written offers for specific homes. Compare the complete price, included options, lot charges, loan costs and closing costs. Historical starting prices on this page do not establish the cheapest available home.
This comparison does not establish a single best warranty. Request the written warranty for the specific home and compare covered components, coverage periods, exclusions, claim deadlines, and who administers each type of claim. Review scores do not verify contractual obligations or predict how a future claim will be handled.
Evaluate the specific home rather than drawing a condition conclusion from a brand name or review average. Request its signed construction specifications, independent inspection reports, repair documentation and applicable warranty. Confirm current written incentive and lender conditions separately.
This guide does not establish which district has the most current new-build options. Confirm the district and assigned campuses for the exact address and enrollment year directly with the district. Builder and neighborhood names do not establish an assignment.
Timing depends on the home’s construction stage, the contract and remaining work. Ask whether it is complete, under construction or a future build, then obtain the written completion commitment and the consequences of delay. Current inventory and delivery dates are not verified by this comparison.
You can ask an agent to help review the purchase process, compare documents and coordinate questions before signing. Discuss services and compensation in writing before touring; the amount and who pays it depend on the agreements for your transaction.
Request the included-features sheet and an itemized quote for the specific plan and lot. Identify options, lot charges, appliances, landscaping and any other exclusions in writing. This page does not verify a typical upgrade allowance or a universal gap between base price and final cost.
The historical Temple residential closed-sales cohort for September 2, 2025 through September 1, 2026 (sale price at least $25,000) had a $260,000 median among 1,037 homes with known reported build years of 2023 or earlier. For 417 unique closings of homes built in 2024 or later, the middle half of sold prices was about $256,000–$370,000. One record with an unknown build year (reported as zero) is excluded from these age groups. These are build-year groups, not a verified split between new construction and resale, and their size/location mix differs. The analysis removes one duplicate address/date/price record; the middle half uses linearly interpolated 25th and 75th percentiles, rounded here to the nearest $1,000. They do not establish the cost of building your chosen home. Compare current written purchase/build quotes, the lot, included work, financing and carrying costs.
Ask each builder for its current written military offer, eligible homes, proof requirements, lender conditions, stacking rules and deadline. No current discount amount or promise that another builder will match it is verified here.
For the specific property, request the recorded HOA declaration and amendments, the current resale certificate or builder-provided HOA disclosure, the association budget, and written details of regular dues, special assessments, transfer fees, and any pending changes. Confirm which documents apply with the association or its manager; this comparison does not verify current HOA charges.
Explore More
Request a Builder Offer Second Opinion
Already have a builder worksheet? Tell me the community, your move date, any builder contact or visits, and whether you’re working with an agent. I’ll first check your agent relationship and the builder’s registration requirements with you. After that check and receipt of your redacted worksheet, I’ll review the written price, incentive conditions and missing documents, then reply by email with questions for the builder or lender.
This is manual written-offer help from Taylor Dasch at EG Realty. It does not replace a lender’s Loan Estimate, a property inspection or legal advice. When your request is accepted, your receipt confirms it was saved. The review is not instant.
Still choosing? Have Taylor compare your options first; no written offer is needed. If you already have another agent, start with that agent. A request here does not establish representation or guarantee builder-paid compensation.
What you get back
- Which costs, credits and conditions in the written offer are clear, and which are not.
- The documents still missing from the offer.
- Questions to take to the builder or lender, in writing.
Still preparing for your first tour? Use the separate Pre-Visit Checklist download. Comparing neighborhoods near Baylor Scott & White? Start with the BSW relocation guide.
Not sure where to start?
Send me what you’re looking at, or just your budget and move date. I’ll help narrow it down before you call a sales office.