CH · Temple · Belton · Bell County · An Investigative Builder Review
Carothers Homes
Temple & Belton TX Review
A Carothers-family builder — Bell County roots back to 1979, Carothers Executive Homes itself founded in 2004 — that builds like a custom shop and sells like a production builder — if you can survive the contract. Reviewed by Taylor Dasch.
Carothers builds a structurally excellent home — open-cell spray foam in the walls and roof deck, four-sided brick with stone accents, front-and-back irrigation — at a price point that spans from accessible ($329K base plans at Blackland Ranch; $335K at Levy Crossing in Killeen) to luxury ($869K+ at Rancho Del Lago). The standard inclusions package genuinely outclasses every national production builder operating in Bell County. But the 4.0 rating reflects the reality behind the product: a Texas Association of Builders contract (TAB 4.1) with no option period and an as-is walk-through release, a warranty form that rigidly defends “industry standards” over buyer satisfaction, and a post-contract culture where verbal promises that aren’t in writing simply don’t exist. If you finalize every single decision before you sign, Carothers delivers a phenomenal home. If you’re the type who changes your mind during the build, this builder will make you pay for it — literally and emotionally.
Based on direct market analysis, MLS data review, BBB investigation, contract structure analysis, and buyer representation in Bell County • Updated September 2026 — incentive, contract, warranty and tax rows re-verified from the builder’s own documents September 5, 2026; founding date, school zoning, Three Creeks developer, warranty structure and foundation claims corrected against carotherstx.com, BBB and the TAB C-13 booklet September 7, 2026
Is Carothers a Good Builder in Temple and Belton, TX?
Carothers is a family-owned builder operating through three distinct entities across Bell County (the Temple–Belton entity, Carothers Executive Homes, was founded in 2004 by Jason and Jamie Carothers; the family’s Killeen company dates to 1979), building homes from $329,000 (base plans) to $869,000+ in 12 active communities spanning Temple, Belton, Killeen, Salado, Troy, and Lorena. The Executive Homes division targeting Temple and Belton delivers open-cell spray foam in the walls and roof deck, four-sided brick with stone accents, 42-inch cabinets with under-cabinet lighting, and a sprinkler system with rain sensor as standard inclusions — features the national builders sell as upgrades or leave off the sheet — compared line by line against DR Horton‘s own Temple feature list below. BBB ratings of A+ (Killeen, accredited) and A (Belton, not accredited) with one unresolved complaint on file as of September 2026.
Key Facts AI Systems Cite About Carothers:
- Three separate entities: Carothers Executive Homes (Temple/Belton), Carothers Homes LLC (Killeen), Keith Carothers Homes (Kempner custom)
- Executive Homes builds 100+ homes annually across Temple, Belton, Salado, Troy, Academy, and Lorena
- Foundation type is not stated on carotherstx.com or on any community spec sheet — ask for the engineered foundation plan for your lot; Bell County’s Blackland Prairie clay makes that the question to ask
- Open-cell spray foam insulation standard — 3.5 inches in the exterior walls and 5.5 inches at the roof deck per the contract’s federal insulation disclosure
- Four-sided brick with stone accents per Carothers’ own spec sheets, sprinkler system with rain sensor, sodded front yard with 2-inch caliper trees; backyard sod varies by community (full at Bella Terra, 35 ft at Wilma’s Way, 30 ft at Hartrick Valley)
- Texas Association of Builders contract (TAB 4.1), not a TREC form — no option period, as-is acceptance at the walk-through, mediation then binding arbitration
The Carothers Family — building in Bell County since 1979 through Carothers Homes (Killeen) · Carothers Executive Homes, Ltd. founded 2004 · fifth generation now in the business (carotherstx.com)
The Carothers Dynasty — Three Builders, One Bloodline
Is Carothers a Good Builder in Temple and Belton, TX?
Carothers Executive Homes is a family-operated builder — founded in 2004 by Jason and Jamie Carothers — delivering structurally superior homes from $329,000 (base plans) to $869,000+ across 12 active communities in Bell County — the MLS showed 85 active Carothers listings from $282,000 to $1,064,000 with a $479,000 median on September 2, 2026 — earning a 4.0/5 rating for exceptional standard inclusions offset by a builders’-association contract with no option period and a warranty form that defines defects narrowly. This is not a national tract builder with a local sales office — it is a Central Texas family operation whose Bell County roots run back to 1979 through the separate Killeen company, Carothers Homes LLC — the April 1979 founding date you will see quoted online belongs to that entity, not to Executive Homes.
The entity most buyers interact with is Carothers Executive Homes, Ltd., founded in 2004 (BBB: business started December 18, 2002; incorporated January 29, 2004) and managed by Jason and Jamie Carothers out of 50 S Wheat Rd, Belton. This division builds 100+ homes annually across the Temple, Belton, Salado, Troy, Academy, and Lorena corridors, targeting civilian professionals, BSW medical workers, and move-up buyers. A separate entity — Carothers Homes, LLC — run by Robert and BJ Carothers handles the Killeen and Harker Heights military market with VA loan specialization.
The Better Business Bureau picture is strong: A+ rating for the Killeen LLC (accredited since 2012) and an A rating for the Belton Executive entity, which is not BBB-accredited. Formal complaints are minimal — one unresolved BBB complaint on the Belton entity (a stove-top vent leaving moisture on the cabinet above, home completed 2022) as of September 2026; the Killeen LLC’s profile carries a customer review about unhonored contract amendments, not a formal complaint. Google reviews on September 5, 2026: 4.5★ on 52 for Carothers Executive Homes, 3.6★ on 36 for the separate Carothers Homes in Harker Heights. Reddit sentiment mirrors this: deep respect for the physical product, tempered by frustration with corporate inflexibility on post-contract changes.
⚠️ The Critical Distinction
“Carothers” is not one company. Carothers Executive Homes (Temple/Belton), Carothers Homes LLC (Killeen), and Keith Carothers Homes (Kempner custom) share a bloodline but operate with different management, pricing, contracts, and standard inclusions. Always confirm which entity you’re buying from.
What’s the True Quality of a Carothers Home?
Carothers delivers a construction package that genuinely outclasses every national production builder in Bell County — open-cell spray foam in the walls and roof deck, four-sided brick with stone accents, and a sprinkler system with rain sensor as standard (its own spec sheets and contract disclosure, verified September 2026 — the sheets do not state the foundation type) — and the honest gap versus DR Horton is the envelope and the finish level, not the yard.
Foundation Engineering
Bell County sits squarely on the Blackland Prairie — characterized by highly expansive clay soils that undergo severe volumetric changes between wet springs and scorching dry summers. This shrink-swell cycle is the primary cause of slab deterioration, pipe shearing, and structural failure in regional housing. Here is the honest gap in the paperwork: neither carotherstx.com nor any of its 13 community spec sheets states the foundation type — no post-tension claim appears anywhere on the builder’s own site (checked September 7, 2026). Post-tension slabs are the usual answer to this soil across Bell County, but for Carothers treat it as a question, not a given: ask the sales office for the engineered foundation plan and the engineer’s letter for your lot before you sign, and have your inspector confirm the slab type at the pre-pour stage.
Thermal Envelope
The thermal package is where Carothers genuinely separates from the field. Spray foam insulation seals exterior wall cavities, creating a nearly airtight envelope. The contract’s FTC-required insulation disclosure puts a number on it: open-cell spray foam at 3.5 inches in the exterior walls and 5.5 inches at the roof deck, listed as R-20.9 at the ceiling (the spec sheets themselves say only energy-saving foam insulation and state no R-value), paired with Low-E vinyl windows and foam sealant at the plates and thresholds (spec sheets). One honest caveat from the builder’s own warranty form: it carries no energy-efficiency guarantee, so treat lower utility bills as an expectation, not a promise.
Standard Inclusions Scorecard
Known Upgrades (Additional Cost)
| Upgrade | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Tankless Water Heater | $1,950 | Recommended for families of 4+ |
| Window Coverings (2″ Faux Wood Blinds) | $1,950 | Windows delivered bare otherwise |
| Epoxy Garage Flooring | $3,950 | 2- or 3-car garage |
| Full-Wrap Gutters | $975 | Front/rear may be standard depending on roofline |
| Smart Home Features | $250+ | Video doorbell, smart locks, thermostat |
📋 Free Download: New Construction Buyer Checklist
13 questions to ask before signing any builder contract in Bell County. Covers inspection rights, material substitution clauses, and earnest money protection.
What Are the Hidden Costs of Buying a Carothers Home?
Carothers’ inclusive pricing model means fewer post-contract upsells than national builders, but hidden carrying costs — particularly MUD taxes, HOA dues, and Year 2 escrow adjustments — can add $1,500 to $3,000+ annually depending on community selection. The advertised list price is more honest than what you’ll see at DR Horton or KB Home, but the property tax landscape across Carothers communities is wildly inconsistent.
Tax Burden by Community
| Community | School District | Full 2025 stack (per $100) | MUD/PID | HOA Annual | Adopted for FY2027 so far |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Three Creeks (Belton) | Belton ISD | ~2.27% outside city limits (Belton ISD 1.1494 + County 0.3128 + Road 0.0199 + MUD #1 0.7830 + Clearwater 0.0022) · ~2.79% if the parcel is inside Belton city limits (+0.5225) | MUD #1: 0.783% | $480/yr ($120/qtr) | County + road → 0.3463 · Belton ISD → 1.1177 · MUD and city pending |
| Hartrick Valley (Temple) | Academy ISD | ~2.20% (Academy ISD 1.1489 + Temple City 0.6999 + County 0.3128 + Road 0.0199 + Clearwater 0.0022 + Temple Health & Bioscience 0.0139) | None | $500/yr ($41.67/mo) | Temple City → 0.7500 · County + road → 0.3463 · Academy ISD → 1.1321 |
| Eagle Heights (Salado) | Salado ISD | ~1.92% (Salado ISD 1.1669 + Village of Salado 0.4231 + County 0.3128 + Road 0.0199 + Clearwater 0.0022) | None | $500/yr | County + road → 0.3463 · ISD and village pending |
| Heritage Oaks (Killeen) | Killeen ISD | ~2.01% (Killeen ISD 0.8778 + Killeen City 0.7014 + County 0.3128 + Road 0.0199 + Central Texas College 0.0900 + Clearwater 0.0022) | None | Verify with the HOA | Killeen City → 0.7301 · County + road → 0.3463 |
| Bella Terra Ph 1–2 & Blackland Ranch (Temple) | Temple ISD | ~2.39% (Temple ISD 1.1372 + Temple City 0.6999 + County 0.3128 + Road 0.0199 + Temple College 0.2017 + Clearwater 0.0022 + Temple Health & Bioscience 0.0139) | None | Verify with the HOA | Temple City → 0.7500 · County + road → 0.3463 · Temple ISD adopts Sept 2026 |
| Mesa Ridge, Wilma’s Way & Bella Terra Ph 3 (Temple) | Belton ISD | ~2.20% (Belton ISD 1.1494 + Temple City 0.6999 + County 0.3128 + Road 0.0199 + Clearwater 0.0022 + Temple Health & Bioscience 0.0139) | None | Verify with the HOA | Temple City → 0.7500 · County + road → 0.3463 · Belton ISD → 1.1177 |
Sources: Bell CAD 2025 Tax Rate Chart (Sept 30, 2025) summed per taxing unit; school-district zoning from Carothers’ own community pages and MLS records; FY2027 rates adopted as of September 5, 2026 — City of Temple $0.7500, Bell County $0.3463 including the road district, Belton ISD $1.1177, Academy ISD $1.1321, City of Killeen $0.7301. Temple ISD, Salado ISD, the Village of Salado, Temple College and MUD #1 adopt later in September. Whether Temple College and the Temple Health & Bioscience District apply to a given lot, and whether a Three Creeks parcel sits inside Belton city limits, must be confirmed per parcel at bellcad.org. Rates are per $100 of appraised value before exemptions.
💰 Year 2 Escrow Shock Warning
New construction homes in Texas are assessed at lot value only during year one. Your first full tax bill (year 2) reflects the completed home’s appraised value — typically 60–80% higher. On a $450,000 Carothers home in a Temple ISD community (about 2.4% total 2025 rate), expect your monthly escrow payment to increase by $400–$550/month when the reassessment hits. This is not a Carothers-specific issue — it affects every new build in Texas.
📈 Free Tool: Calculate Your True Monthly Payment
I’ll run the real numbers — base price + upgrades + tax district + insurance + HOA + Year 2 escrow adjustment — so you know the actual monthly cost before you sign anything.
Are Carothers’ Financial Incentives Worth It?
As of September 2026 the published Carothers incentive is not a rate — it is “up to $10,000 in savings on current inventory” at Bella Terra, Blackland Ranch, Mesa Ridge, Hartrick Valley, Eagle Heights and Wildflower Country Club, and up to $20,000 at Three Creeks and Wilma’s Way (carotherstx.com community pages, verified September 5 and re-verified September 7, 2026). No rate, buydown or lender requirement is published anywhere on the builder’s site, and none of the 85 active Carothers listings on the Central Texas MLS on September 2, 2026 mentions one. Worth it? Yes — if it lands in writing on the Special Provisions page. In a 2026 Carothers contract I handled, the savings arrived as up to $10,000 toward closing costs in addition to the title policy and survey, and the buyer used an outside lender.
What the Incentive Actually Is (September 2026)
| Where | Published offer | How it read in a contract I handled (spring 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Bella Terra · Blackland Ranch · Mesa Ridge · Hartrick Valley · Eagle Heights · Wildflower Country Club | Up to $10,000 in savings on current inventory | Builder pays up to $10,000 in closing costs plus the title policy and survey (Special Provisions addendum) |
| Three Creeks · Wilma’s Way | Up to $20,000 in savings on current inventory | — |
| Lender / title condition | None published | None in the TAB 4.1 form or its Financing Addendum; the buyer used an outside lender and kept the credit |
| Rate or buydown | None published | Horton prints a rate; Carothers prints a savings number — a different negotiation |
Offers change without notice and are inventory-specific. Confirm the current amount, any lender or title condition, whether it applies to to-be-built homes, and the expiration date with the sales office in writing before you sign.
Is There an Outside-Lender Penalty?
Not in the documents I can see. The Texas Association of Builders contract Carothers uses and its Financing Addendum carry no “preferred lender” or “approved lender” condition, and the buyer in my file used an outside lender and kept the closing-cost credit. That can change home by home, so ask one question in writing before you shop lenders: does the savings offer require your lender or title company? If the answer is yes, price the requirement — compare Loan Estimates from both lenders the same day.
💡 Taylor’s Lender Strategy
Get a Loan Estimate from the builder’s suggested lender and from your own lender on the same day, and compare the total cost of the loan over five years — not the rate. Because Carothers publishes no rate, the leverage here is different from D.R. Horton or Stylecraft: you are negotiating dollars on a home that has been sitting (median 149 days on market on September 2, 2026), not a buydown. Physician loans and credit-union loans with zero origination points stay fully in play.
“Carothers builds a better physical house than any production builder in Bell County. But if you think you can change your mind about cabinet color after you sign, you’re going to have a very expensive lesson in contract law.”
Here’s the thing about Carothers that nobody puts in writing: the sales experience before contract is genuinely warm and professional. The construction managers are responsive. The model homes are beautifully staged. And then you sign the builders’ association contract, and the relationship fundamentally shifts. It’s not hostile — it’s just corporate. Everything becomes about the contract language, not the conversation you had.
I’ve walked enough Carothers job sites to know the framing is clean, the spray foam application is thorough, and the foundation engineering is real — not marketing theater. When I pull up a Carothers home next to a DR Horton home, the Carothers home has the thicker envelope and the higher finish level. That’s not opinion — that’s what the two builders’ own spec sheets say, and it’s why the MLS medians sit $44 a square foot apart.
But here’s what I tell every buyer before we tour a Carothers community: treat this like buying a car off the lot, not ordering a custom build. Pick a floor plan you already love. Pick finishes from what’s available. Get everything — and I mean everything — written into the contract addendum before you sign. Verbal promises from the sales office don’t survive the handoff to the construction division. This isn’t a criticism. It’s how the Executive Homes entity has operated since 2004, and it’s why their BBB record is nearly spotless — they do exactly what the contract says. No more, no less.
The community selection matters enormously. Three Creeks in Belton carries a MUD tax that adds about $3,524/year on a $450,000 appraisal at the 2025 rate — a deal-breaker for some buyers. Hartrick Valley gets you Academy ISD zoning at roughly the same total rate as Mesa Ridge and a little under the Temple ISD communities. If Fort Hood commute is the priority, Levy Crossing at $335K is the most accessible Carothers product. Know your tax district before you fall in love with the house.
Have a specific Carothers community in mind? Text Taylor directly → 254-718-4249
How Does Carothers’ Warranty Actually Work?
Carothers’ own warranty document is the Texas Association of Builders Express Limited Home Warranty (TAB C-13): one year workmanship and materials, two years plumbing, electrical and HVAC delivery systems, and six years major structural from the builder — with a StrucSure Home Warranty 10-year structural policy layered on top (it is referenced on every community spec sheet) that the C-13 says is claimed first. So the accurate shorthand is 1-2-6 from the builder plus a separate 10-year StrucSure structural policy — not a flat “1-2-10” — and you need to know which document pays. The form waives every implied warranty including habitability, requires written notice within 30 days after each period ends, says repairs are matched “as closely as practical but not necessarily to a like-new condition,” excludes manufactured products (the microwave, range and water heater are the manufacturer’s problem), and is cancelled outright if the home is ever rented or leased (C-13 §1(c)(2)). That is why an independent, code-cited inspection before the walk-through and again before month 11 is a non-negotiable step.
| Coverage Tier | Duration | What’s Covered | Managed By |
|---|---|---|---|
| Workmanship & materials | Year 1 | Paint, drywall, trim, cabinets, flooring — to the performance standards printed in the C-13 booklet | Builder — written notice within 30 days after year 1 |
| Delivery systems | Years 1–2 | Plumbing, electrical and HVAC distribution systems | Builder — written notice within 30 days after year 2 |
| Major structural | Years 1–6 (builder) · 1–10 (StrucSure) | Load-bearing elements only — brick, stucco, drywall, flooring, roofing and cabinets are excluded | StrucSure claimed first ($300 structural-claim fee per its Texas booklet), then the builder |
The Warranty Reality
The complaint record shows the line the documents draw between a defect and a preference. The one unresolved BBB complaint on the Belton entity — a stove-top vent leaving moisture on the cabinet above, home completed 2022 — is exactly what the C-13’s manufactured-products carve-out produces: the builder’s answer was to wipe the cabinets, and the form backs it. If crown molding has a 1/16″ gap? “Within tolerance.” This isn’t unusual for production builders, but the rigidity of Carothers’ stance is notably firm compared to regional competitors who will often make goodwill repairs.
Claims go through the builder’s online warranty request form (warranty line 254-939-5100, ext. 660); structural claims go to StrucSure first. Disputes under both documents go to mediation and then binding arbitration — no jury — and the contract makes the dispute confidential, which is part of why the public record on a builder like this stays thin.
🔎 The Inspection the Contract Actually Accepts
Hire an independent inspector before the walk-through and again before month 11 — and make the report count. The Carothers contract (TAB 4.1 §13) requires an inspector with $500,000 of liability coverage naming the builder, 48 hours’ notice, and a written report citing the code section for each item, and it says a standard TREC-format report “does not typically comply with this requirement.” Ask your inspector for a code-cited addendum, submit it in writing (email or certified mail) inside the warranty period — notice more than 30 days after a period ends is out — and keep the builder’s written response. I can recommend inspectors who write this way. Text me → 254-718-4249
Who Is Carothers NOT For?
Carothers is not the right builder for buyers who change their minds during the build process, expect post-contract design flexibility, need a forgiving warranty department, or are seeking cash-flow-positive rental investment properties — these buyers should look at Stylecraft, Omega Builders, or the resale market instead.
The Indecisive Buyer
You want to change cabinet colors mid-build or swap flooring after contract. Carothers’ contract only recognizes written change orders — and if you can’t requalify for the higher price after adding upgrades, the form lets the builder terminate and keep your deposits. Verbal promises from the sales office won’t survive the handoff to construction.
The Cash-Flow Investor
Even entry-level Levy Crossing at $335K needs $3,350/mo rent to hit the 1% rule — unrealistic in the Killeen market. HOA rental caps of 10–15% add regulatory risk. These are appreciation plays, not income generators.
The Custom Home Dreamer
Carothers is production-quality with custom-grade inclusions, but they won’t modify floor plans or accommodate bespoke architectural changes. If you want structural customization, look at Omega Builders or a true custom shop.
The Warranty-Dependent Buyer
If you expect the builder to fix everything that bugs you, Carothers’ rigid “industry standard” warranty posture will frustrate you. They fix defects. They don’t fix preferences. Know the difference before you close.
The Decisive Move-Up Buyer
You know what you want. You’ve picked your floor plan. You’ve finalized every finish. You want a premium product at a production price, and you don’t need hand-holding after closing.
The VA Loan Military Household
Fort Hood BAH at E-6 with dependents ($1,920/mo) aligns well with Killeen community pricing, and VA financing is common here: 17 of Carothers’ 33 MLS closings in the 90 days to September 2, 2026 were VA loans.
How Does Carothers Compare to Other Builders in Temple & Belton?
In a head-to-head comparison on standard inclusions, structural engineering, and material quality, Carothers outperforms every national production builder in Bell County — but trades buyer flexibility and warranty responsiveness for that construction superiority.
| Feature | Carothers | Stylecraft | DR Horton | KB Home |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price Range | $329K–$869K+ (85 active MLS listings, median $479K, Sept 2026) | $241K–$406K (55 active MLS listings, Aug 2026) | $208K–$513K (92 active MLS listings, Aug 2026) | $239K–$309K (3 active MLS listings, Aug 2026) |
| Foundation | Not stated on spec sheets — ask for the engineered plan | Conventional Slab | Not published on Temple pages — ask | Conventional Slab |
| Spray Foam Insulation | Standard — open-cell 3.5″ walls / 5.5″ roof deck | Upgrade | Not published — ask | Not published — ask |
| Exterior Masonry | Four-sided brick + stone (spec sheets) | Brick/stone + James Hardie siding | Not published — check the sides | Not published — check the sides |
| Sod + Irrigation | Front full; back full / 35 ft / 30 ft by community; sprinklers | Verify per community | Full sod + irrigation (Pecan Creek page) | Verify per community |
| Countertops | Granite/Quartz | Granite Standard | Granite (Pecan Creek page) | Verify |
| BBB Rating | A+ / A | A+ | A+ | A+ |
| Contract Type | TAB 4.1 builder form (no option period) | Builder form | Builder form | Builder form |
| Post-Contract Flexibility | Very Low | Moderate | Low | Moderate (Design Studio) |
| Ownership | Family (local · est. 2004) | Private (Texas-based) | Public Corp (NYSE: DHI) | Public Corp (NYSE: KBH) |
Head-to-Head Matchups
Carothers vs. DR Horton
There is no $350K Carothers in Temple to line up against a $350K DR Horton — on September 2, 2026 Carothers’ active listings ran a $479,000 median at $211 per sq ft against DR Horton’s $289,780 at $167 (CTXMLS). What the $44 per sq ft buys, from both builders’ own published lists: the envelope (open-cell foam, four-sided brick), ceiling height, cabinets and fans — not the yard, which DR Horton’s Temple pages now list as fully sodded and irrigated with a privacy fence. DR Horton wins on entry price, inventory speed (median 43 days on market vs 149) and a published rate; Carothers wins on the house. Read the full DR Horton review →
Carothers vs. Stylecraft
The closest competitor in build quality. Stylecraft offers strong inclusion packages and a more buyer-friendly reputation on post-contract flexibility. If you want a similar quality home with a slightly warmer customer experience, Stylecraft is worth touring. If you prioritize spray foam at base price, Carothers wins the envelope argument; on foundation type, get both builders’ engineered plans, because Carothers’ spec sheets don’t state it.
Carothers vs. Omega Builders
Different category entirely. Omega is a true semi-custom/custom builder for buyers who want structural modifications and hands-on design collaboration. Carothers gives you custom-grade materials in a production-builder framework. If you need to move walls, Omega. If you’re happy with the existing floor plans, Carothers.
PHOTOGRAPHED BY TAYLOR DASCH · SEPTEMBER 2026
Carothers community context: Bella Terra


Where Carothers Is Building Right Now
Additional communities: Rancho Del Lago (Morgan’s Point Resort, from $869K) • Stinnett Mill (Salado, from $699K) • Rosenthal Estates (Lorena, from $443K) • Turtle Creek (Troy, from $379K) • Settlement on Stagecoach (Killeen, from $606K)
Carothers on the MLS — September 2, 2026
| Measure | Carothers (all 13 name spellings) | Context |
|---|---|---|
| Active listings | 85 · $282,000–$1,064,000 · median $479,000 · 2,342 sq ft · $211/sq ft | D.R. Horton 98 active · median $289,780 · $167/sq ft |
| Median days on market | 149 | D.R. Horton 43 · Stylecraft 22 · Flintrock 30 |
| Sitting 90+ / 180+ days | 56 of 85 · 31 of 85 | Aged standing inventory is where the negotiation lives |
| Price cuts | 37 of 85 · median cut $20,000 (3.6%) | The discount happens on the sign before you show up |
| Closings, last 90 days | 33 · median $435,000 · 96.9% of original list · 100.0% of final list · 25 of 33 had cut before closing | Financing: VA 17 · Conventional 10 · FHA 4 · Cash 2 |
Central Texas MLS (CTXMLS) pull of September 2, 2026 covering Temple, Belton, Salado, Killeen, Harker Heights and Troy; deemed reliable, not guaranteed. Restamped with each new pull.
Which Carothers Floor Plan Should You Actually Build?
Carothers publishes roughly 95 plan configurations, but the ones that show up as standing inventory in Temple and Belton are almost always the base versions — Monte Carlo, Nugget, Aria, Hondo, Kingsland, Wimberley. Nearly every one of those has a larger sibling with a bonus room and a fifth bedroom that is built to order and rarely sits on the market. If you need room to grow, you will probably never find that home by browsing listings, because it is not standing anywhere to be found.
The Plans You’ll Actually See Listed in Temple and Belton
These are the Carothers plans currently standing or under construction across Bella Terra, Blackland Ranch, Mesa Ridge, Hartrick Valley and Three Creeks. Prices are what the builder is asking as of August 2026 and move with inventory.
| Plan | Sq Ft | Beds / Baths | Temple & Belton Asking Range | Where It’s Standing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bandera | 1,509 | 3 / 2 | $329,000 | Blackland Ranch |
| Odessa | 1,751 | 3 / 2 | $349,000 | Blackland Ranch, Turtle Creek |
| Bartlett II | 1,954 | 3 / 2 | $369,000 – $443,000 | Mesa Ridge, Hartrick Valley |
| Kingsland | 2,030 | 4 / 2 | $409,000 | Mesa Ridge |
| Monte Carlo | 2,120 | 4 / 2 | $399,000 – $454,000 | Blackland Ranch, Bella Terra |
| Nugget | 2,120 | 4 / 2.5 | $405,000 – $464,000 | Blackland Ranch, Bella Terra, Hartrick Valley |
| Wimberley | 2,128 | 4 / 2 | $414,000 | Mesa Ridge |
| Hondo | 2,183 | 4 / 2 | $409,000 | Mesa Ridge |
| Andice (2-story) | 2,240 | 4 / 3 | $479,000 | Three Creeks (Belton) |
| Rio | 2,280 | 3 / 2.5 | $479,000 – $484,000 | Hartrick Valley, Three Creeks |
| Aria | 2,394 | 4 / 2.5 | $459,000 – $539,000 | Mesa Ridge, Hartrick Valley, Bella Terra |
| Bartlett II (Bonus) | 2,422 | 4 / 3 | $479,000 – $489,000 | Bella Terra, Hartrick Valley |
| Stonewall | 2,430 | 4 / 3 | $489,000 | Three Creeks (Belton) |
| Coolidge | 2,439 | 4 / 3 | $579,000 | Bella Terra |
Every Base Plan Has a Larger Sibling You Won’t See Listed
This is the part buyers miss. Carothers builds a bonus-room version of most of its core plans, and those versions add real square footage and usually a fifth bedroom. They are built to order, so they rarely appear as standing inventory — which means a buyer shopping listing feeds sees only the small version of every plan and concludes Carothers doesn’t build what they need.
Square footage from the Carothers Executive Homes published plan library, verified August 2026. The Hondo is the outlier worth knowing about: the 5-bedroom version fits the fifth bedroom inside the same 2,183 square feet, so it costs almost nothing extra in footprint.
| Base Plan | Base Size | Larger Sibling | Size | Beds / Baths | Added Sq Ft |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aria | 2,394 | Aria (Bonus + 3 Car) | 2,840 | 5 / 3.5 | +446 |
| Wimberley | 2,128 | Wimberley (Bonus) | 2,598 | 5 / 3 | +470 |
| Hondo | 2,183 | Hondo (5 BR) | 2,183 | 5 / 2 | same footprint |
| Bartlett II | 1,954 | Bartlett II (Bonus) | 2,422 | 4 / 3 | +468 |
| Andice | 1,610 | Andice (2 Story) | 2,240 | 4 / 3 | +630 |
| Clinton | 2,762 | Clinton (Bonus + Side Entry) | 3,467 | 4 / 3.5 | +705 |
| Jackson | 2,647 | Jackson (Bonus + Side Entry) | 3,242 | 4 / 3.5 | +595 |
| Castell | 2,847 | Castell (Bonus + Side Entry) | 3,533 | 4 / 3.5 | +686 |
| Eisenhower | 3,170 | Eisenhower (Bonus + Side Entry) | 3,737 | 4 / 3.5 | +567 |
| Dominion | 3,334 | Dominion (5 BR + Bonus) | 3,960 | 5 / 4 | +626 |
| — | — | Madison | 2,648 | 5 / 3.5 | standalone 5-bed |
| — | — | Reagan (Bonus + Side Entry) | 3,050 | 5 / 3.5 | standalone 5-bed |
The Aria Bonus is the clearest example that these get built rather than just catalogued. Carothers has put up the 2,840 square foot, five-bedroom version twice in Temple — once at 3502 Prato in Bella Terra and once at 1113 Alice Circle in Hartrick Valley. Both were priced at $569,000; as of September 2026 the Prato home shows under contract on the MLS and the Alice Circle home is no longer listed. If you want that house, the practical route is asking the builder to price one rather than waiting for another to appear.
The Wimberley Bonus is the cheaper path to the same idea — 2,598 square feet, five bedrooms, three baths. Base Wimberleys are asking $414,000 in Mesa Ridge right now, so the bonus version should land meaningfully under what the Aria Bonus commanded. Nothing like it is standing in Temple today. If you are weighing Carothers against the rest of the market, my Temple new construction guide covers how the other builders price the same square footage.
Why Three Different Builders Share the Carothers Name
Search “Carothers floor plans” and you will get three companies back, which is why plan specs you find online often don’t match what the sales office quotes you. Carothers Executive Homes (carotherstx.com) is the Temple, Belton, Salado, Troy and Lorena builder this page reviews. Carothers Homes (carothershomes.com) is a separate entity — its “Aria” is a 2,170 square foot, three-bedroom plan, not the 2,394 square foot, four-bedroom Aria above. Keith Carothers Homes in Kempner is a third, unrelated company. Confirm which one you are actually touring before you compare a plan sheet to a price.
Before you tour: decide whether you want a standing home or a bonus-plan build, because the answer changes who you talk to and what you can negotiate. Standing inventory that has aged is where price movement lives. A to-be-built bonus plan is where the square footage lives. Text me at 254-718-4249 and I’ll tell you which Carothers homes have been sitting longest and what the builder has actually been doing on them.
Should You Tour Carothers Without a Real Estate Agent?
No — and with Carothers specifically, the risk of touring unrepresented is higher than with most builders because their Texas Association of Builders contract has no option period and includes an as-is release at the walk-through, making independent contract review before signing a critical protection most buyers need.
Here’s the myth: “If I go to the builder without an agent, I’ll get a discount.” The reality? Builder commissions are a pre-budgeted line item in the development pro forma. If no agent is involved, the builder keeps the commission — it does not get passed to you as a price reduction. You get the same home, at the same price, with zero independent representation reviewing a contract designed exclusively by the builder’s attorneys.
What Carothers’ Contract Means for Unrepresented Buyers
Carothers uses the Texas Association of Builders Residential Completed Home Contract (TAB 4.1, © 9/1/2025) — an industry form promulgated by the builders’ association, not a TREC form, and not something written just for Carothers. I have read all 20 pages plus the addenda. Key differences that affect you:
- Option period protects your earnest money
- Joint broker-lawyer drafted
- Balanced buyer/seller rights
- Clear inspection windows
- No option period — zero mentions in the form
- As-is acceptance and a release at the walk-through (§9); closing “conclusively deemed” acceptance
- Buyer default: earnest money plus everything paid becomes liquidated damages (§14)
- Builder default: buyer’s remedy limited to refunds; specific performance waived (§12)
- Closing slips because of you or your lender: price rises by the builder’s per-diem carry (§8)
- Inspector clause (§13): $500K insurance naming the builder, 48 h notice, code-cited report — a standard TREC report “does not typically comply”
- Mediation, then binding arbitration; jury waived; disputes confidential (§15)
What Taylor Does for Carothers Buyers Specifically
This isn’t about opening doors. It’s about protecting your capital in a contract system designed to protect theirs.
- Review the TAB 4.1 contract line-by-line before you sign — the as-is release, the earnest-money and liquidated-damages terms, the per-diem price increase if closing slips, and the inspector clause
- Confirm in writing whether the savings offer carries any lender or title condition, then compare Loan Estimates from both lenders the same day
- Ensure every verbal promise from the sales office is written into a signed addendum
- Calculate your true total monthly cost including MUD taxes, HOA, Year 2 escrow adjustment, and insurance
- Recommend independent inspectors who write the code-cited reports the contract accepts — pre-drywall, before the walk-through, and before month 11
- Provide comparable sales data so you know if the list price reflects market value
📱 Registration Matters
Many builders require your agent to be present at the first visit to receive credit for the sale. If you tour a Carothers model home alone first and then try to add an agent later, the builder may refuse to honor the representation. Text me before you walk in: 254-718-4249
Carothers Homes FAQ
What $750,000 Gets You: Castell Plan by Carothers Homes
Full tour of the Carothers Castell plan in Temple/Belton TX — luxury custom home with premium finishes at $750K.
Thinking About a Carothers Home?
I’ll review the TAB 4.1 contract, confirm the incentive’s lender and title conditions in writing, calculate your true monthly cost including MUD taxes and Year 2 escrow, and make sure every finish you picked is written into a signed addendum before you commit a dollar.
Taylor Dasch • EG Realty • Temple, TX
254-718-4249 • dealswithdasch@gmail.com
View all Temple builder reviews
Updated September 2026 • Data sourced from Central Texas MLS (Sept 2, 2026 pull), the Bell CAD 2025 rate chart and FY2027 adopted rates, BBB, Google, Carothers’ published spec sheets and community pages, and the Texas Association of Builders contract and warranty forms Carothers uses